• Menu
About Dutch Dance Days

Dance Awards

Nominate a choreographer for Dutch Dance Festival Awards 2020
Even though, the cultural season of 2019-2020 took an unexpected turn, we still award the Dutch Dance Festival Awards 2020. That’s why we ask you to send in your nominations for the two festival prices, The Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Award 2020 and the Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Young Audiences Award 2020.

Send in your nomination before Friday July 3 to info@nederlandsedansdagen.nl. Add the name(s) of the choreographer(s) you think deserves to win with a short motivation why. 

Criteria for the nominations and prices

The Choreographer has:
- Realised a few eye-catching projects
- Has receives no more then 4 years of national subsidy
- Choreographers that make own production as well as choreographers that make production in a company can by nominated.
- The choreographers’ work in the Netherlands for quite some time
- Choreographers that have been nominated in previous years, still are able to be nominated and win. 

The Dutch Dance Festival Award and the Swans
The Dutch Dance Festival supports Dutch dance by supporting emerging talent with guidance and awards. The Dutch Dance Festival Award Maastricht, the Dutch Dance Festival Young Audiences Award and the prestigious Swans put current developments and exceptional talent in the limelight. The awards will be awarded on 4th October at the Dutch Dance Festival Gala in the company of makers and dancers, nominees and winners.

The Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Award 2019
The Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Award is for a promising choreographer who is not in receipt of structural subsidy. The nominations are made by professionals in the field of dance and a jury chooses a winner. The prize of 10,000 euros provided by the municipality of Maastricht allows the winning maker to develop a new work to be premiered at next year’s festival.

The nominations for 2019:
Connor Schumacher
Wubkje Kuindersma
Kim-Jomi Fischer and Marta Alstadsæter

Jury: Ronald Wintjens (festival director), Helmy Koolen (Economy and Culture manager at the municipality of Maastricht), Peggy van Sebillen (general director of Zuiderlicht), Hicham Khalidi (director of the Van Eyck), Mirjam van der Linden (owner of To|taal) and Lisa Reinheimer (journalist and programme maker at Dans & Performance)

Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Young Audiences Award 2019

The Dutch Dance Festival Maastricht Young Audiences Award is for a promising choreographer who is not in receipt of structural subsidy. The prize aims to encourage innovation in dance for young audiences in the Netherlands between the ages of 4 and 18.

The nominations for 2019:
Cecilia Moisio
Anne Suurendonk
The Ruggeds

Jury: Ronald Wintjens (festival director), Marco Gerris (artistic director, ISH Dance Collective), Diana Herz (programmer, Theater aan het Vrijthof) and Wendy Lubberding (journalist/critic for Theatermaker and writer and translator at Wendy Translates)

The Swans 2019
The Swans are the Association of Theatres and Concert Hall’s [Vereniging van Schouwburg- en Concertgebouwdirecties or VSCD] dance awards. They are the ‘Oscars’ of Dutch dance and they have been connected with the Dutch Dance Festival since 2003. All the nominated companies, choreographers and dancers have demonstrated exceptional artistic quality in the previous season. 

Nominated for the 2019 Swan for the most impressive achievement in dance:
Redouan Ait Chitt; REDO – Shailesh Bahoran
Adi Amit; BROOS – Conny Janssen Danst
Chloé Albaret; Start to Finish – Sol León & Paul Lightfoot (Nederlands Dans Theater)

Nominated for the 2019 Swan for the most impressive dance production:
Take Root – Marne & Imre van Opstal (for Nederlands Dans Theater)
The Way You Sound Tonight – Arno Schuitemaker
Black Memories – AYA, Tafel van Vijf and BackBone

The VSCD dance jury 2019 consists of: Rob van Steen (chairperson, director of Theaters Tilburg), Leo Spreksel (former artistic director, Korzo), Violien Vocks (programmer, Parkstad Limburg Theaters), Brigitte De Goeij (De Goeij Cultuur en Zaken), Jasper Weck (marketing & programming, Theater de Veste), Swantje Schäuble (dancer), Judith Blankenberg (programmer, Grand Theater Groningen) and Marcelle Schots (dance critic)

Keep up to date with the latest news from the Dutch Dance Festival?

Privacy & Cookies